Client Area User Management

Accounts and Users

What Is An Account?

Accounts (formerly “clients”) own products and services. They represent a billable party, like a business.

What Is A User?

Users have one or more associated accounts that they can access and manage. When a new account is created, a new user is created based on the account profile. This new user then becomes the account owner (see below). Separate controls manage users’ access to each account.

For example, each of a web designer’s customers could represent a distinct account. The web designer could log in as a user and access each of these accounts using a single set of credentials. However, the accounts themselves would not be connected.

What Is An Account Owner?

Each account is associated with a single account owner. Account owners have all of the possible permissions that a user can possess. They are also the only user who can send invitations from the account to new or existing users.

Just a couple of examples where this might be useful are:

  • Billing Department – corporate users may have a dedicated billing department who should be given access to pay invoices and place new orders while the web/technical staff would only be given access to view current products & services and submit support requests, which was previously impossible
  • Web Developers – you may be employing a web developer to build and maintain your website so might want to give that developer access to create tickets and correspond on your behalf, without being able to access any billing information or change account details. When it comes to web developers access, we suggest you read about a few things to consider and security principles.

How to Invite new Users in the Client Area

Inviting a new user allows you to invite a new user to your account. If the invitee already has an existing user account with us, they will be able to access your account using their existing login credentials. If the user does not yet have a user account, they will be able to create one.

You can send invitations from the User Management section of your Client Area by following the steps below:

  • Once you are logged into your client area, click on the account name in the top header (right-hand side) then click on User Management.
  • Enter an email address under Invite New User.

    User Management > Invite New User

Choose All Permissions to grant all available permissions, or choose Choose Permissions and select the desired permissions:

  • Modify Master Account Profile – Access and modify the client profile information
  • View & Manage Contacts – Access and manage contacts
  • View Products & Services – View access to products, services and addons
  • View & Modify Product Passwords – Allow password resets and other actions
  • Perform Single Sign-On – Allow single sign-on into services (eg. cPanel)
  • View Domains – View access to domain registrations
  • Manage Domain Settings – Allow domain management eg. nameservers/whois/transfers
  • View & Pay Invoices – View and payment access to invoices
  • View & Accept Quotes – View and acceptance permissions for quotes
  • View & Open Support Tickets – Access to open, respond and manage support tickets
  • View & Manage Affiliate Account – Access to view and request withdrawals
  • View Emails – Access to view account email history
  • Place New Orders/Upgrades/Cancellations – Allow placing of new ordersInvite New User > Send Invite
  • Click Send Invite.

You should see a confirmation that the invite has been sent successfully. They will receive an email from our system, similar to the one in the screenshot below:

Note

Invitations expire after 7 days. If the invitee already has an existing user account with us, they will be able to access your account using their existing login credentials. If the user does not yet have a user account, they will be able to create one.

After you send an invitation, the invitee will display in Users in the client’s profile. Click Resend Invite to resend the invitation email, or click Cancel Invite to cancel the invitation.

Managing Accounts and Users in the Client Area

Managing User Permissions

As an Account owner, you can manage users and their permissions from the User Management section of the Client Area.

  1. Once you are logged into your client area, click on the account name in the top header (right-hand side) then click on User Management.
  2. Find the desired user in the list.
  3. Click Manage Permissions.
    User Management > Edit User Permissions

    Note

    Account owners cannot edit their own permissions.

  4. Select the desired permissions.
  5. Click Save Changes.

Removing User Access

As an Account owner, you can remove users from the User Management section of the Client Area.

  1. Once you are logged into your client area, click on the account name in the top header (right-hand side) then click on User Management.
  2. Find the desired user in the list.
  3. Click Remove access.
    User Management > Remove User Access
  4. You’ll be asked to confirm the removal of the user. Click Confirm

 

 

 

Updated on January 14, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need help?
We're always here for you. Submit a ticket or Chat with a live person.
Submit Ticket

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.