1. Home
  2. Hosting Management
  3. cPanel
  4. WordPress Toolkit
  5. How to Manage WordPress Installs Using WordPress Toolkit

How to Manage WordPress Installs Using WordPress Toolkit

This article will show you how to manage your WordPress install quickly and easily using the WordPress Toolkit in cPanel. The WordPress Toolkit comprises features that let you configure and manage your WordPress websites without hassle.

We’ll assume that you’ve already installed WordPress. If you haven’t already installed WordPress on your site, this article will tell you how.

How to Manage WordPress Installs

To manage an existing WordPress install using WordPress Toolkit, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to cPanel.

    Please see this article if you do not know how to log in to your cPanel account.

  2. In theĀ Domains section of the cPanel’s home screen, click WordPress Toolkit:
  3. Next, the WordPress Toolkit page will appear, and you’ll see the list of the existing WordPress installs.

    If you do not see any installations listed, you must import them into WordPress Toolkit. Please follow the instructions in this guide.

WordPress Install Management

In the WordPress Toolkit dashboard, we’ll explore multiple management options below.

  • To view your site, click Open.
  • To add a label to your WordPress install (Production, Staging, Development), click Add Label
  • To log in to your WordPress Administrator panel, click Log in.
  • To change various site settings, such as the login password, administrator’s e-mail address, or site language, click Setup.
  • To view and manage your files for your WordPress site, click File Manager.
  • To copy files from one WordPress installation to another, clickĀ Copy Data.

    This feature is only available on WordPress Toolkit Pro.

  • To view action logs for the install, click Logs.
  • To place the site in maintenance mode, click theĀ Maintenance mode toggle button. Click the Manage icon beside to customize maintenance mode settings, such as the maintenance email template, the message that appears to site visitors, the Countdown timer, or Social Media links.
  • To enable or disable search engine indexing, click theĀ Search engine indexing toggle.

    You may want to disable search engine indexing if your site is still under development or not ready for public viewing.

  • To enable or disable WordPress debugging, click theĀ Debugging toggle.
  • To enable or disable password protection, click theĀ Password protection toggle.
    When this option is enabled,Ā all site visitors must enter a username and password to access the site.
  • To enable or disable hotlink protection, click theĀ Enable hotlink protection toggle.
    Hotlink protection prevents other websites from displaying, linking, or embedding your images and, consequently, using your bandwidth.

Checking WordPress Install Integrity

This feature comes in handy if you suspect your site is infected with malware. In this scenario, use the Verify Checksums option to check the integrity of the WordPress core files.

If checksums fail to match, you can quickly reinstall WordPress core files without affecting your site content.

Detaching a WordPress Site

This option comes in handy if you want to remove (detach) a WordPress installation from WordPress Toolkit. When you do this, you can no longer use WordPress Toolkit to manage the WordPress install. To do this, follow these steps:

  1. From the WordPress Toolkit main page, in a site list entry, click the three dots icon, and then click Detach:
  2. In theĀ Detaching WordPress WebsitesĀ dialog box, clickĀ Detach to confirm. WordPress Toolkit will detach the install.

Deleting a WordPress Site

This option comes in handy if you want to delete a WordPress install. To do this, follow these steps:

Before deleting your WordPress install, we strongly recommend you consider doing a backup of your site first.Ā 

  1. From the WordPress Toolkit main page, in a site list entry, click the three dots icon, and then clickĀ Remove:
  2. Select the data you want to remove, and then click Yes. WordPress Toolkit will delete the data you specified.

Updating WordPress

WordPress Toolkit makes updating your siteā€”and keeping it updatedā€”simple. To do this, follow the steps in this article.

Creating a Staging environment

This feature comes in handy if you need to do some testing or want to make significant changes to your website. Then, using the WordPress Toolkit, you can easily clone your existing website onto a staging/development sub-domain (e.g., staging.my-awesome-website.com).

This feature is only available on WordPress Toolkit Pro.

Please follow the steps in this article to create a staging environment for your WordPress site.

Backing up and restoring a WordPress Site

WordPress Toolkit makes the backup and restores process easy. To back up or restore your WordPress site, follow the steps in this article.

 

Updated on July 10, 2023

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Web hosting without headaches
Get up to 70% Off hosting plans + free domain & SSL!
šŸ‘‰ Start Saving

Leave a Comment

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.